Deluge takes ages to start and stop: Can't connect via web-ui

General support for problems installing or using Deluge
Xi0N
Leecher
Leecher

Deluge takes ages to start and stop: Can't connect via web-ui

Post by Xi0N »

Well, I don't know how to start.
I've been struggling with this issue for a long time now.

I followed arch wiki, like I've been setting deluge up for the past ten years or so:

Install
Created a user as per https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/deluge#Create_a_user
$ echo "delugeuser:p422WoRd:10" >> $HOME/.config/deluge/auth

Then started deluged and deluge-web but no matter what, deluge-web can't connect to the daemon, can't even "see" it.

For some time, deleting the state file, seemed to work since I was having some permission issues on the download dirs, but now that's fixed, yet starting deluge takes ages, and stopping it always times out (5 minutes) and ends getting sigkilled.

journalctl does not give any clue and I sincerely don't know how to troubleshoot what is happening.

I tried to delete all the config, uninstall and then install from zero, new configs, new all, but I still can't manage to make it work.

Can any caring soul help a guy out? I have lots of thing waiting to be downloaded... :(
If only I could know how to debug what deluge is trying to do or where does it get stuck...
mhertz

Re: Deluge takes ages to start and stop: Can't connect via web-ui

Post by mhertz »

If not having anything important, then you start fresh by 'sudo rm -rf /srv/deluge/.config/deluge' and 'rm -rf ~/.config/deluge'.

If you start deluged/deluge-web from systemd, then by default run under deluge user, so should echo auth password into '/srv/deluge/.config/deluge'. You don't really need though however, If just using deluged on localhost, and for gtkui you just copy hostlist.conf from /srv/deluge/.config/deluge into and overwrite the one in ~/.config/deluge and for webUI you shouldn't need copy anyhting over really.