Bash script to change the listen_ports

General support for problems installing or using Deluge
Ouroboruss

Bash script to change the listen_ports

Post by Ouroboruss »

Hey guys!

I am trying to write a bash script which changes the listen_ports depending on the result of a CURL request (the port my VPN provider uses for forwarding changes if connection is lost)

Im very new to scripting so im not sure what I am doing wrong but I suspect its because its sending the variable names to Deluge as apposed to the variable values. This is the part of the scirpt I cant get to work:

deluge-console "config --set listen_ports ($PORT,$PORT)"

I suspect it is treating the variable names as a string but I have tried all kinds of ways to comment them out so they show up as variables with no success. can anyone recomend how I could get this to work?

Thanks
mhertz

Re: Bash script to change the listen_ports

Post by mhertz »

I myself use:

Code: Select all

json=$(curl 'xxxxxxxxxx' 2>/dev/null)
deluge-console "config -s random_port false; config -s listen_ports ($(echo ${json:26:5}), $(echo ${json:26:5}))"

You obviously cannot directly use that, but just for reference. Anyway, your issue is that you need to have '$PORT' defined before you can use it, just like in my example where I instead use the variable-name 'json'.
Ouroboruss

Post by Ouroboruss »

Hi mhertz

The thing is the script already defines $PORT before that part of the code is ran please see full code below:

error( )
{
  echo "$@" 1>&2
  exit 1
}

error_and_usage( )
{
  echo "$@" 1>&2
  usage_and_exit 1
}

usage( )
{
  echo "Usage: `dirname $0`/$PROGRAM"
}

usage_and_exit( )
{
  usage
  exit $1
}

version( )
{
  echo "$PROGRAM version $VERSION"
}

port_forward_assignment( )
{
  echo 'Loading port forward assignment information...'
  if [ "$(uname)" == "Linux" ]; then
    client_id=`head -n 100 /dev/urandom | sha256sum | tr -d " -"`
  fi
  if [ "$(uname)" == "Darwin" ]; then