pieces and unique pieces

General support for problems installing or using Deluge
shirish
Seeder
Seeder

pieces and unique pieces

Post by shirish »

Hi all,
i'm unsure about whether to post it in support, Development or in Plugins hence putting it in Support. If need be please move it to whatever corner it is best. I am no developer.

First up though, thank you for Deluge and especially thanx to the author nick for his Pieces plugin. I do however understand that whenever libtorrent 0.16 comes it should have/replicate the Pieces plugin functionality. Now the pieces plugin just gives me idea about when some piece somewhere in the torrent which is good. There are however number of improvements that could be made :-

a. Have someway of figuring out which piece belongs to which file. Right now when you complete the piece it turns green (I know you can add/edit colors but using standard/default) and red when it's downloading and black when it's empty. This would be nice to have. - A wishlist.

b. Another wishlist would be having some kind of visual indicator of the unique pieces that another user has - Let's take an e.g. I have a large torrent that is say around 10 GB . And let the torrent have 30 files. Let's say there are only 2-3 peers, leechers or/and seeders for that torrent. Maybe I came in late or it's a niche torrent. Either way I'm slightly screwed.

Now there are two basic strategies you can use herein :-

a. Just put all the files within the torrent to download and hope for the best.
b. Download each file sequentially and keep an eye when one file (of the multi-file torrent) has been completely downloaded.