Port Configuration Confusion

General support for problems installing or using Deluge
Nibinaear

Port Configuration Confusion

Post by Nibinaear »

I'm a recent convert first from Vuze to Utorrent, but now Utorrent to Deluge (I like the open-source aspect). I'm trying to configure the port settings in Deluge like I did in the other clients but I'm finding it a bit tough because there are four boxes, 2 for incoming and 2 for outgoing. If I set them all up to the port I've decided - 62305 then I ge the warning triangle when I hit the test button. Do I need different ports for incoming/outgoing? I'm not very good with protocols or network settings so please go easy.
loki

Re: Port Configuration Confusion

Post by loki »

Yes, it does need different ports, but you can actually use random for outgoing ports without problem. It should make it through the firewall/router since it is originating from your computer. (it does for mine anyway)
Nibinaear

Post by Nibinaear »

I've set my incoming ports to 62314-62314 and my outgoing to random but I still get the warning triangle. Do I actually need a range of ports for the incoming ones? This is definitely the port I have on Utorrent and utorrent works fine.
Cas
Top Bloke
Top Bloke

Post by Cas »

What version of Deluge and what operating system?
loki

Post by loki »

Don't use utorrent and Deluge at the same time with the same port...? (I assume you knew this though)
Nibinaear

Post by Nibinaear »

Cas wrote:What version of Deluge and what operating system?
Deluge 1.3.1 on Windows XP SP3 (with connections fix)
loki wrote:Don't use utorrent and Deluge at the same time with the same port...? (I assume you knew this though)
Yes I knew that.
Nibinaear

Post by Nibinaear »

I still have the problem but uploading is now fixed. I have my upload rate set to 50KB (bits). Thinking it was in kb (bytes). I've now got it set to 400KB, I think that's right anyway. I still have the warning triange on the port test. Just to recap: