Bandwith Limiter

Suggest, post, or discuss plugins for Deluge
compu73rg33k

Bandwith Limiter

Post by compu73rg33k »

I'm at a University that limits our bandwith usage to 2GB/day. We get pretty good speeds (10mb/s down, 1 mb/s up), so I'm bummed I have to resort to limiting the upload speed to 30KB/s so that it doesn't upload too much in one day. It'd be nice if you could set a bandwith limit that would obey any speed limits, including unlimited, and then not upload at all once the limit is reached. Our bandwith usage updates once an hour, and you can't have downloaded more than 2GB in any 24 hour period. If you do, you get throttled to 1mb/s down, 32kb/s up. Big bummer, especially the upload speed. I have basic knowledge in python and would be willing to try to help with this. Comments?
johnnyg
Top Bloke
Top Bloke

Re: Bandwith Limiter

Post by johnnyg »

I think it's a great idea.

I had a similar idea of a plugin that checks the internet usage (monthly).

the general idea is that deluge somehow knows when it's about to go over your allowed usage and stops in time :D

writing a plugin to do the actual limiting wouldn't be too hard, the hard part would be having deluge universally be able to check how much it had downloaded/uploaded.

the two solutions that come to mind are:
  • have deluge keep track of its own usage: this of course wouldn't be as good (not to mention redundant) but it would mean it would work everywhere.
  • have deluge interact with a site-specific parser using a standard interface: this would mean you would just need to write the parser for your usage site for the plugin to be able to work.
compu73rg33k

Post by compu73rg33k »

If anybody's wants to look at the code or help, please do! I don't know much python, but I really want this script! So I'm going to be learning as I go along. I've basic python knowledge, but not anything too technical.

Paste: http://pastesite.com/2212
Live File: http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/124437/delug ... limiter.py