"Open Download Folder" troubles when running Deluge in a container

General support for problems installing or using Deluge
Post Reply
mlysle
New User
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2024 12:21 am

"Open Download Folder" troubles when running Deluge in a container

Post by mlysle »

I setup deluge using the container from linuxserver.io, and connected to it using the GTK client. Everything works as it should, except for the "Open download folder" option, because it tries to open the path mapped inside the container, and not the path on my host machine. I'm not sure what to do in this situation. It seems like a bind mount would help because it preserves the original path from the host system. However, the docker documentation discourages using bind mounts in favor of volumes. My compose.yaml:

services:
deluge:
image: lscr.io/linuxserver/deluge:latest
container_name: deluge
environment:
- PUID=1000
- PGID=1000
- TZ=America/Denver
- DELUGE_LOGLEVEL=error #optional
volumes:
- ./config:/config
- /8tb/deluge/data:/downloads
- /8tb/deluge/torrents:/torrents
- /8tb/deluge/watch:/watch
ports:
- 8112:8112
- 6881:6881
- 6881:6881/udp
- 58846:58846 #optional
restart: unless-stopped

UPDATE: I finally got around to fixing this. Here is what I did:
(1). Create a map that matches the local file system. In my case:

Code: Select all

    ports:
      - /8tb/deluge/data:/8tb/deluge/data
(2). Test on a single torrent. Pause the torrent, change download folder and then run a force recheck. Then try to open a torrent data directory from a client.
(3). Assuming everything works properly, repeat on your other torrents.
(4). Remove the old map in docker (careful, you don't want to accidentally remove the new one).
I hope this helps people in the future.
Last edited by mlysle on Mon May 27, 2024 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ambipro
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 460
Joined: Thu May 19, 2022 3:33 am
Contact:

Re: "Open Download Folder" troubles when running Deluge in a container

Post by ambipro »

This is just the nature of docker, and isn't a bug. Docker is not aware of anything outside of its container. It's contained. That's the whole purpose.

I'm not sure what you're main goal is with this, browsing the torrent? If so, just mount it as its mounted in the host system, otherwise you're going to run into this problem when using docker.
Post Reply