New user headless server muddle

General support for problems installing or using Deluge
TheMegulator
New User
New User

New user headless server muddle

Post by TheMegulator »

Hi All,

I am running deluge and deluge-web as services on a headless ubuntu server 23.10. I am new to home servers and to deluge as a service. I followed this guide:

https://reintech.io/blog/install-config ... uge-ubuntu

when setting up deluge and was able to get the service running and download a torrent, yay! When I did this I thought I had set the download location to /home/user/servershare/Documents/TorrentFiles, but the torrent appears to have downloaded to /var/lib/deluged/downloads. I have not been able to access /var/lib/deluged despite adding user to both the deluged and debian-deluge groups. I have since removed used from those groups.

Looking at the troubleshooting guide linked in the sticky at the top of this forum I found the guide to setting up deluge as a service and noted the discussion about UMASK. I thought it was therefore a good idea to go into /etc/systemd/system/deluged.service using nano and edit the UMASK line from 027 to 000. I restarted the service, was given an error message and restarted the server.

On rebooting the service I still cannot access /var/lib/deluged. I have gone back into /etc/systemd/system/deluged.service and changed the UMASK setting back to 027. However I now cannot access deluge-web. And sudo systemctl status deluged and sudo system status deluge-web both return 'failed'. Journalctl reports that both deluge and deluge-web are unable to use the default config directory.

I am now at a loss :(

Please can someone advise:
1. how to reset deluged and deluge-web so that that start?
2. how I can access /var/lib/deluged/downloads so that I can move the files I downloaded to /home/user/servershare/Documents/TorrentFiles?
3. how I can set deluge to always download torrents to /home/user/servershare/Documents/TorrentFiles?

Thank you :)
TheMegulator