Column setup not saved

Support for Deluge on Apple Mac OS
Bo Lindbergh
New User
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 9:27 am
OS or Distro: Mac OS X

Postby Bo Lindbergh » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:31 am

I get the impression that it's the loading code that is broken rather than the saving code. See attachment for details.
Attachments
macosx-column-config-bug.tar.gz
(7.44 KiB) Downloaded 272 times

AppZapper
New User
New User
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:54 pm
OS or Distro: OSX

Re: Column setup not saved

Postby AppZapper » Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:28 pm

Hello,
your workaround seems to be a great option, but do you know where can I get Vers 1.3.5?
The links for "previous versions" for Mac only seems to shows 1.3.6. :(
Thx.
carbncl wrote:Just two cents on the issue, from memory, a long time ago, when i noticed that issue, i checked logs and git history to see what changed from 1.3.5, which works.
I didn't identified any possible cause from deluge source code, so my bet is that the issue comes from the gtk packaging.

I tried last week to repackage a new version of Deluge.app, w/o any success yet, jhbuild/gtk-osx being somewhat hard to build on OSX 10.9 / Xcode 5.
Will try to give a look further.

Until then, a poor man workaround is to use 1.3.5 to setup columns, save their settings, then use 1.3.6.

carbncl
Leecher
Leecher
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2010 7:36 pm

Re: Column setup not saved

Postby carbncl » Wed Mar 19, 2014 7:43 pm

You can find 1.3.5 there: https://github.com/vguerci/Deluge.app/downloads

Still no luck rebuilding a version... Even tried on a virtual machine using an older environment...

ViciousDelicious
New User
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:14 pm
OS or Distro: OSX/Linux

Re: Column setup not saved

Postby ViciousDelicious » Fri Jul 04, 2014 8:17 pm

Hey, found a workaround for the 1.3.6 app. I was walking through different settings when I noticed that suddenly my torrentview.state file had been created. Finally pinpointed it down to toggling the Label-plugin. Basically, when you untick Label in plugins, the configuration will be saved.

It's not pretty, but it works! :)

Cheers

mzaur
New User
New User
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:25 pm
OS or Distro: Win8

Re: Column setup not saved

Postby mzaur » Fri Jul 18, 2014 12:46 am

Awesome. That fixed it. I ticked and untucked Label in Plugins and now everything saves!

Prisca22
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:31 pm
OS or Distro: MacOS10.11.3

Re: Column setup not saved

Postby Prisca22 » Fri May 20, 2016 1:39 pm

Hi,

I am resuscitating this post because I am experiencing this same problem. I tried unticking the label plugin which at first worked, now doesn't. I am using 1.3.12 on Mac El Capitan. I tried to change for the 1.3.5 app. as mentioned in some of the posts, but it won't open, so I switched back.
Anyone have any ideas? :D

Prisca22
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:31 pm
OS or Distro: MacOS10.11.3

column setup not saved

Postby Prisca22 » Mon May 23, 2016 10:33 am

Hi,

I posted a few days ago in a post dating from November 2013, but I got no reply, so I'm posting as a new topic.
I cannot seem to keep my columns set up as I like them. I read the previous topic and tried unticking the label plugin which at first worked, now doesn't. I am using 1.3.12 on Mac El Capitan. I tried to change for the 1.3.5 app. as mentioned in some of the posts, but it won't open, so I switched back.
Anyone have any ideas? :D

Shryp
Super Seeder
Super Seeder
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 10:20 pm
OS or Distro: Windows 7, Manjaro

Re: column setup not saved

Postby Shryp » Mon May 23, 2016 1:18 pm

There have been a few similar issues with file permissions. Perhaps you don't have the correct file permissions to save the config files.

I use Windows and Linux, but have no direct experience with Mac.

Prisca22
Member
Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri May 20, 2016 1:31 pm
OS or Distro: MacOS10.11.3

Re: column setup not saved

Postby Prisca22 » Mon May 23, 2016 1:56 pm

Thanks for your reply. What do you mean by file permissions? Is it like when you clean up and repair permissions?

Cas
Top Bloke
Top Bloke
Posts: 3465
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 6:04 am
OS or Distro: Ubuntu 16.04
Location: Scotland

Re: column setup not saved

Postby Cas » Tue May 24, 2016 12:08 pm

I can look at it again but I only have an OSX VM for building and testing and no other devs work on OSX. What you need to do is enable logging to determine what is happening on startup and shutdown. Perhaps also need to provide a more detailed step by step of how to replicate, if we can determine it's OS independent it will be easier to fix.


Return to “Mac OS”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests