Mac OSX Install Help

Support for Deluge on Apple Mac OS
superb

Mac OSX Install Help

Post by superb »

Total noob here, trying to download Deluge for Mac OSX Tiger. I downloaded the MacPorts but have no idea how or where to do the sudo command at. I did it in a Term window with no go. I would appreciate all your help, educating a noob :lol:
oriain

Re: Mac OSX Install Help

Post by oriain »

Assuming you have macports installed, you must open a Terminal window and type

Code: Select all

sudo port selfupdate
which makes sure that you have the latest macports info. Then type

sudo port install deluge
This will take an extremely long time and might fail along the way. Just be patient. I had one error the first time. At the end of the error message, the failed dependencies were listed. I installed one of the ones listed at random via the

sudo port install
command, which caused a lot of the other ones to be installed. Then i tried instaling deluge again, and it worked. It isn't the latest version, but it is a lot better than AZ.

After that you must open X11(.app), found in the utilities folder in Applications. At that an xterm window will appear. Type

/opt/local/din/deluge
then it should run. If you don't have X11, then you need to install it from your Mac OS install disks. I also saw somewhere on another forum that you might need the Xcode and developer tools. If you run into troubles make sure those are installed. I already had installed them previously so I had no troubles.

Sorry for the long post. Best of luck
kemeng

Post by kemeng »

I got "port: command not found" message in Terminal after (leopard) MacPort package (.pkg) installing. MacPort package was installed fine, was not error message. Machine was restarted, and repaired after isntall but problem same. Could u help me?

MBP 3.1 (2.4GHz) Mac Os X 10.5.2.
aved

Post by aved »

Your path is probably not set correctly. Type this in Terminal

echo $PATH